K Model value

Production K Models

K Model value

Postby Mayday53 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:29 pm

53 Harley.jpg
First Recovery
53 Harley.jpg (121.53 KiB) Viewed 20195 times

I am new to this K Model site and I need a bit of experienced, truthful, information I have been getting so little of lately. I bought an old 53K model from a farmer on a true barn find, it is just like the stories go...except, this one needed restoration. After spending a couple months of research, I thought I may be able to do something nice with it, so we worked out a deal...likely in his favor. He has the original 1953 title, but he had the motor changed to a KHK in 1955 because, as he put it, the dealer made him a great offer and he wanted a faster bike...so the title does not exactly match. My plan is to restore it nicely, drive it for a summer and then sell it (for the right price only) and move on to another Harley project.

S000 here is the deal, when I get done restoring the bike we believe it will be at an estimated 90 point restoration. However, I will have spent about $12,000-13,000 into it. A local bike builder told me, and a few sites indicate he may be correct, it will be worth more than that...but truthfully I am beginning to lose confidence in those estimates. And of course I understand it depends on how much the guy wanting it is willing to pay for it.

So...the hard question with reality on the other end is this; can any experienced old K Model brothers tell me what to expect for a bike that would meet the description of a K Model like this?
"Mayday"

"Respect is given, disrespect is earned"
Mayday53

Re: K Model value

Postby JerrryR » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:37 pm

Hi Mayday,